Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-12-02 - 10:45 pm

Today was a damn emotional rollercoaster. I woke up feeling tense and agitated for reasons I could not explain. I felt lowdown about every aspect of my life; I was scowling on the subway, and pacing angrily in the teacher's lounge before school started. I was so keyed up that I wanted to punch something. Then I taught my first class of the day and I felt really mellow all of a sudden. The students struggled with the lesson, and some of them were fucking around, but I just felt really tranquil. I was definitely using the Stoner Math Teacher voice ("Alriiiight...I really like your eagerness to answer my questions, but let's think verrrry carefully here," in response to some kid's blurting out of a ridiculously incorrect answer), and smiling a lot. Interestingly, I was observed by a woman who came in without identifying herself and started taking notes. She got up and left as soon as I drifted over to sneak a peek at her legal pad, but I was feeling too groovy to care who she was. Then I taught one of the worst behaved classes in the school, and while they pulled their usual rowdy bullshit I didn't even raise my voice. At lunch, I found myself chatting with my coworkers, which is something I usually avoid at all costs. By the time I got home, I was feeling downright perky. Then I started talking to my dad on AIM and I got some rocking good news: As a graduate student, I'm still considered dependent on my stepmother, and therefore eligible for Alaska Airlines flight benefits. So at first I was thinking "Rock! I can visit Russell and Sean in Arizona and Los Angeles respectively!" At this point, I was planning this tour for my weeklong mid-winter break in February. But then, I started talking to Sean about it on AIM and the full awesomeness of the situation dawned on me.

Serinaes: this is awesome
Serinaes: so awesome
i schapira: yeah, i'm stoked
i schapira: another possibility is that if i save a sick day i can turn a three day weekend into a four day weekend and come out just for the hell of it, whenever
i schapira: also, wait a minute: I DON'T WORK IN THE SUMMERTIME
i schapira: HOLY FUCK I CAN TRAVEL THE FUCKING WORLD
Serinaes: that is fantastic
i schapira: dude, this summer any time i get bored i'm just coming to LA to hang out
Serinaes: that is awesome
Serinaes: and fantastic
i schapira: it will be like when i used to just show up at your room whenever i was bored in pfoho
Serinaes: it is awesome and fantastic
i schapira: FUCK, THIS RULES

And to think that this morning I felt discouraged as a teacher, frustrated as a grad student, and generally disgruntled! Being a teacher and grad student is the best combination ever!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!